Outdoor Hobbies and Crafts >> Rod Building (custom and repairs)  

Pages: 1
Knapp45
2 salt
Profile Status:
  This User's Profile is 80% Complete

Reged: 08/05/10
Loc: Seattle
THREAD COLOR BLEED QUESTION
      #408920 - 12/15/10 01:59 PM Attachment (0 downloads)

I am new to rod building and try to find the answers to my questions by searching the web, but I can't figure this one out.

This is a Rainshadow RDR86MH, black gloss, wrapped with Gudebrod Metallic Black and Pacific Bay Nylon Evergreen, both in size A. The initial wraps came out nice, as far as I'm concerned, until I put on my CP, U-40 Color Lock 2.

I fully expected the Nylon to darken a shade, but black color seems to have really run into the green, causing black bands in the wraps. I don't think it is the blank color bleeding through.
I just built one of these blanks last month and used a light gray nylon and silver trim with no problems.

Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Knapp45
2 salt
Profile Status:

Re: THREAD COLOR BLEED QUESTION new [Re: Knapp45]
      #408921 - 12/15/10 02:00 PM Attachment (0 downloads)

Before CP

Elkman
Chromer
Profile Status:
  This User's Profile is 60% Complete

Reged: 09/29/03
Loc: Silverdale, WA
      #408935 - 12/15/10 11:44 PM

1st pic is kinda dark and hard to see. In the second pic do you have a black trim wrap in the middle of the green?? or did you just not pack the wraps enough.

--------------------
Bigfoot's Custom Rods- Owner

Rainshadow Prostaffer
FJ40 Owner
TLCA Member
RMEF Member

Knapp45
2 salt
Profile Status:

Re: THREAD COLOR BLEED QUESTION new [Re: Elkman]
      #408943 - 12/16/10 09:37 AM

There is a black underwrap with a three strand green inlay in the center, then the hook keeper is wrapped with green and each green wrap has a single black strand in it. All packed pretty tight.

I noticed that on some of the guide wraps there are dark miscolored bands in the green, and there is no black inlay to bleed, just a three strand trim band.

adamh