Trouthead
Subject of the Puritan Rep. of Washington
Profile Status:
  This User's Profile is 80% Complete

Reged: 09/17/02
Loc: Lost
Puget Sound rockfish conservation plan new
      #413186 - 04/25/11 01:15 PM

Well, here's the information and a link to the whole plan. This plan talks about removing derelict gear, etc. but the state has turned down the law saying the commercials should report their lost gear. So, this plan has extra money to find the things?

I'm not too good at interpreting these things. Bear, AuntyM what do you think?

WDFW NEWS RELEASE
Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife
600 Capitol Way North, Olympia, WA 98501-1091
http://wdfw.wa.gov/

April 25, 2011

WDFW releases Puget Sound rockfish conservation plan

OLYMPIA - The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) today released a new management plan designed to protect and restore rockfish populations in Puget Sound.

The Puget Sound Rockfish Conservation plan includes policies, strategies and actions designed to help restore and maintain abundance, distribution, diversity and long-term productivity of rockfish populations in Puget Sound.

Developed with input from an ad-hoc advisory group, the new plan includes suggestions made during an extensive public review process in 2009-10 that included 1,100 public comments received by the department.

The plan builds on WDFW's efforts to protect rockfish in Puget Sound, where three species - bocaccio, yelloweye and canary rockfish - were listed for protection under the federal Endangered Species Act in 2010.

Key provisions of the new plan include:

Managing fisheries in Puget Sound to ensure the health and productivity of all rockfish species.
Utilizing science-based marine conservation areas that, with other actions, aid in natural production of rockfish populations and their habitats.